h1

Dialogue Between Dancer & Musician: Letters with Tom Rossi

March 13, 2010

A few weeks ago, I was stunned to find an email from a musician, Tom Rossi, whose music I love, in my Inbox…. all the way from NY, NY. This has been such an affirming experience in many ways so I’d love to share that.

This is what he wrote:

“I noticed on an iTunes iMix that you incorporate some of my music in your ecstatic dancing. Just wanted to make the connect and say I’m honored. Give me a holler on my Facebook page:  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tom-Rossi/33964964865 and check out my site http://tomrossi.com for more music that might be helpful to what you’re doing.”

Wow! How incredible…. firstly, that someone  actually took the time to say, “Thank you”… a lost art that desperately needs a comeback. So simple and yet so wonderful to receive. …And that someone was actually paying attention to something I had published on iTunes where there are nearly two million iMixes! But thanks to everyone who voted to give “Ecstatic Trance Dance Journey” five stars, the playlist appears as “Top-Rated  iMix” for many of the artists I chose to share. That makes me so happy!  There are some amazing artists out there that need to be heard and journeyed with. The idea of perhaps making a difference in someone’s life… the artist’s, the person who bought the music, those who listened to it… this web of connection flooded my being with joy. Moral of that story, someone is listening… so go ahead, share your passion, your heart….so what if there are gazillions of videos and blogs… you have something to give… you never know! Not in a needing to be famous sort of way but bringing more light and love on the planet and sharing it.

So I wrote back to Tom thanking him for his music… and an incredible dialogue unfolded.

“Thank you, Heeraa! I would love to know which of the tunes stand out as helpful for what you do and how you use them. Any feedback on how the music serves functionally and other ways, would be invaluable…Aloha Tom.”

Gulp….This guy is an incredible musician. He plays music for hospice patients in Brooklyn. What lucky souls to spend their last days being serenaded by live divine music. May this serve to inspire others to equal acts of giving, especially to the dying. It’s time we reclaimed death as a sacred experience, a pinnacle of one’s life, a momentous occasion for celebration! We all deserve to be serenaded at the end not left forgotten in impersonal, sterile environments.

I’m touched… he’s asking my opinion. And actually, I have some thoughts to share as I have watched how his music has opened the hearts and souls of many dancers…. never fails to….so I reflected about what quality in his music consistently moved people.

I wrote back: “Thanks for asking for my feedback regarding what moves the dancers here in Hawaii. My turn to feel honored. Hard to translate in words though but I’ll give it a shot.

Salma Har is the sure fire #1 hit that opens people’s heart and wings. The repetition of the voices, the beat… always get the whole room skipping and smiling! It’s very celebratory. And as in all your music, there’s a quiet space to exhale and drop in. Perfect balance of surprising twists and turns and familiar chorus. The piece also builds towards a crescendo so there’s a progression that bodies fall in tune with.

The lengths of your tracks help as they allow people to get tranced out. The lack of lyrics also creates more spaciousness while the vocals keep it human. Also the long continual vocal tone, so signature in your work, invites inhale and then exhale…. long, deep ones. Breath unlocks the emotions so the music naturally takes you there.

Tierra di Siena has a great swelling orchestral feeling… ah, as I write, I am getting a new hit… emotional…. that’s what grabs people. Your music is very heart- filled. So when the music swells, ebbs and flows, like in Tierra di Siena, Salma Har, Resolutions, particularly, so too does the heart. Moonflower and D Meditation are great meditational tracks. There is spaciousness in them and YES. How’s that for trying to translate bodies into words?”

And Tom answered: “Thank you for the great feedback, Heeraa! Really excellent. Really helpful. I have lots of unpublished music that I’m in the process of finishing, so it is great to know what has been working for folks out in the real world. This is all good confirmation of some of my intuitions about the music and which ones really achieve the alchemy I was going for.”

What a wonderful exchange! It left me feeling so enriched and grateful. The sense that we are all co-creating higher consciousness: the musician, The DJ, the dancers, that we all need each other, no one more or less important than the other is huge. Sharing the love people!

Finally a word from Tom to all of us in Hawaii via Facebook:

“Aloha, ecstatic dancers. Honored to be a part of your deep groovin’ even though I’m 4894 miles away.”

But right here in our hearts… Aloha!

2 comments

  1. I love your music! I have just found it on facebook. I can visualize how everyone reacted to it in Hawaii, I used to live in Maui for a little more than 10 years. I miss the freedom to really dance here without so much judgement, here in Canada. I need to get dancing again and find my path. I will be checkng your music out more and telling my friends to listen up! Thank you, and thanks for this. Aloha, Sunshine.


    • Aloha Sunshine!

      Delighted that you are enjoying the music! I will certainly post more playlists in the future. Please vote your approval rate on the iMixes. Good ratings help ensure getting the word out about these wonderful artists. To get regular updates on fun videos, dance poems, my dance blog and announcements for my latest music mix, please join the Facebook Fan page: http://www.facebook.com/ecstaticdancehi
      Where are you in Canada? There are quite a few dances in the bigger cities like Vancouver and Toronto. Sending you rainbows and big thanks from Hawaii!



Leave a Reply

